Fruit and Nut Rocky Road

By now I think i’ve established my love of chocolate, chewy dried fruit and crunchy nuts.  So what could possible be better than something that combines all three??? Not much if you ask me!  Therefore I got experimenting in the kitchen yesterday to create a quick and easy finger food dessert to take to my sister’s place for a BBQ she was hosting.  The end result was a combination of raw vegan chocolate, chewy dried fruits and crunchy nuts to create what i’m calling my Fruit and Nut Rocky Road!  To my delight these went down a treat at the BBQ so the recipe is good to go without any tweaking, so here it is.

IMG_3871

Ingredients

  • 120g Cacao Powder
  • 120g/ml Rice Malt Syrup
  • 120g/ml Unrefined/virgin Coconut Oil
  • 50g Mini Marshmallows
  • 75g Unsalted Peanuts
  • 50g Hazelnuts, chopped
  • 50g Reduced Sugar Craisins (dried cranberries)
  • 50g Medjool Dates, chopped
  • 50g Dried Apricots, diced
  • 25g Pepitas

IMG_3667

Method

  • Step 1: In a large mixing bowl add the cacao, coconut oil and rice malt syrup.  Using a spatula combine all ingredients until they are smooth, this may take a few minutes.  This is your chocolate.
  • Step 2: Add the marshmallows, peanuts, hazelnuts, Craisins, dates, apricots and pepitas and stir thoroughly to combine and mix all ingredients.  Make sure that everything is coated in chocolate and the ingredients are spread evenly throughout the mixture.
  • Step 3: Pour the mixture into a lined tin (I use a bread tin to give my slice a nice depth) and even out with the back of a spoon/spatula.  Make sure to compact the mixture.
  • Step 4: Place into the fridge/freezer to set
  • Step 5: To cut, dip a large knife in boiling water (for a few seconds) and then slice using one solid chop.  Dip the knife back into the boiling water between cuts to create clean cuts in the slice
  • Step 6: Place in an airtight container and store in the fridge/freezer

IMG_3874IMG_3872

Makes 24 approx 1x1x1 inch pieces.  Per serving (1 piece)

  • 140 Calories
  • 8.7g Fat
  • 12.5g Carbohydrate (7g sugar)
  • 3g Protein

You can easily swap any of the nuts/seeds for the same volume of other nuts/seeds if you don’t like peanuts/hazelnuts/pepitas, and you can also swap out the dried fruits for other dried fruits of the same volume.  I initially wanted to use dried pineapple but my nephew is allergic to pineapple so I used the apricot instead.  Depending on how much marshmallow you like in your rocky road you can use more/less than I have so long as in the end the total volume of the dry ingredients is the same so the ratio of chocolate to ‘bits’ is the same.

IMG_3701

If you make these, or any of my other recipes, I would love to hear your feedback and see your creations in the comments section below and on Instagram.  If you post to Instagram tag me @food.glorious.fuel in the post and photo, and hashtag #foodgloriousfuel so that I can see what you have made!

Leave a comment